top of page
Search

West World and Mr. Arbery

Final Thots for Mr. Ahmaud Arbery: 

I don’t want your sympathy 

I just need you to understand

One of my favorite shows 

Is a show called Westworld on HBO 

The plot in season 1 

Is all about these rich people who come to this 

Theme park - Westworld 

A country western 1800s type place 

And here they get to be whoever they want to be 

A hero . A bounty hunter . A villain 

And inside Westworld are these 

Very real, very life-like robots 

They look and act just like humans 

The visitors don’t know who’s real and who’s not 

Until they malfunction or you shoot them 

Because the visitors can’t die

But the robots can

See in Westworld 

You, as the visitor, can do whatever you want to these robots 

There are no rules, no punishments, no consequences 

The visitors have the complete support and encouragement of the park operators - 

The system

And these robots deal with their fate 

Their memory and history erased 

Some get sent down to this cell to be forgotten 

Others get rebooted 

And sent back out to the world

To be used, abused, and killed 

All over again 

What am I saying ? 

Until now - Until Mr. Ahmaud Arbery 

As a Black Man in this country

I’ve never felt more connected to those robots 

To know that a visitor 

Can kill me or anyone else who looks like me 

And has the full support of the system in doing so

And nothing happen 

No Rules. No Punishments. No consequences. 

In fact, their participation is the rule 

And I am deserving of my punishment 

It’s why I was brought here to begin with 

For their entertainment - their target practice 

And I am forced to have to literally watch 

As others who look exactly like me 

Face the same fate 

Over and over and over and over again

“He reached for my weapon”

“I was afraid for my life”

“Stand your ground” 

“It was an accident” 

“Citizens arrests and self defense”

“I thought it was my apartment”

“Closed casket homie” 

“Not guilty” “Not Guilty” “Not Guilty” “Not Guilty”

And just like the robots in Westworld

The hardest part about all of this 

Is realizing that my life - as a black man - 

Has zero value 

In the eyes of the system and of the law 

And sometimes of the visitors themselves 

The same visitors that supposedly believe 

“All Lives Matter”

And the same system that is supposedly blindfolded but clearly peeks beneath the mask 

And the same law that arrests 

A murderous father and son only after their crime has gone viral

75 days later 


We never asked to come here 

But since we are here 

All we ever asked for was equality and opportunity 

To not be so burdened by the constant thoughts 

That come with wearing this Black skin 

“Should I wear this? Should I say that? Am I being too loud? Let me turn this music down. Am I smiling enough? Let me put on my work voice. Should I wear my hat backwards or to the front? Do I fit the description? I always fit the description. Should I cut my hair? Is it too natural for this interview? No of course it’s not a problem. It’s my fault.

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry.”

Our entire life is a series of rehearsed defense mechanisms 

To make others feel comfortable 

And feel like we are not a threat 

And even that isn’t enough 

You woke up today, yesterday, and the day before 

With some worries and problems sure 

But nothing that was permanently attached to your skin color

If a white person gets killed 

You don’t feel the weight of your entire race bearing down on your shoulders 

If a white person shoots up a school

You don’t feel the stares as if you pulled the trigger 

You had the luxury of just waking up as you 

I’m jealous of that 

Because when I woke up this morning, yesterday, and the day before  

I woke up in sadness, anger, and in a daze 

I woke up to text messages from other Black Men 

Worried. Confused. Angry. In repetitive disbelief 

“This could have been me ... again” 

I woke up listening to Black fathers conflicted and wondering the best way to teach their young Black sons how America looks at them 

How do you tell a child some people will hate them because they are Black ? 

That he may not have a chance to live to an old age  - hell to his 30s - because his skin color is less than

A childhood now ruined by reality 

Simply because of the color of his skin 

Because Tamir Rice found out when he was only 12 years old 

I don’t want your sympathy

I just need you to understand 

That it may not look like it 

We live in two different places of the same place

My America looks nothing like yours

Mine is more similar to the “Upside Down” 

To steal from Stranger Things 

We get a glimpse of the beauty of your world

But get reminded, quite often, that it isn’t meant for us 


And even despite our differences 

Sometimes we have more in common than we could ever know 

Even if it doesn’t affect you personally 

It’s okay to be upset about the very same things Black folks are hurt about 

But more important 

It’s okay to speak out when you know something is wrong 

Especially to those who do not look like me 

And the people who won’t listen to me 

But who need to hear it - from you 

Sometimes there is comfort in knowing that you actually get it

If you know within yourself 

That you would never want to trade lives with me 

Then you know everything there is to know about my life in this country

And you also know how very wrong that is

And even if you asked 

I don’t want to trade lives 

Because to know that somehow, some way, 

I made it in America 

As a Black man 

Is worth all the risk 


And yet, I still don’t want your sympathy ... 

I just need you to understand.

71 views0 comments
bottom of page